Other Consumer Protections

The Australian Consumer Law (ACL) commenced on 1 January 2011. The ACL replaced provisions in 20 national, State and Territory Acts.

For transactions that occurred up to 31 December 2010, the previous national, State or Territory consumer laws continue to apply and continue to be enforced and administered by the relevant national, State and Territory consumer agency. Guidance about the implied warranties and conditions regime under the Trade Practices Act 1974 that applies to goods and services bought before 1 January 2011 is provided on the ACCC website.

For information about national consumer laws that apply to specific sectors or which previously applied or laws that previously applied in your state, please see below.




New South Wales

Northern Territory


South Australia



Western Australia